BAFTA Awards 2017

b94a0a175b6e31c8b5f1e2040e5bf85f

Yesterday, on 12 February 2017, the British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) presented its 70th British Academy Film Awards. Hosted in the Royal Albert Hall in London, the ceremony was attended by the Duke and Duchess of Cambridge and presented by a comedian and actor Stephen Fry (“V for Vendetta” (2005)). The ceremony was particularly impressive this year, with the great British humour all around, and a very fierce high-standard film competition, which, although could have been even more diverse, was, nevertheless, inclusive of so many great foreign productions. Here, I will comment on the Best Picture, Actor/Actress, Supporting Actor/Actress, Foreign-Language Film, Documentary and Animation Award winners. 

Best Picture – Winner: La La Land

Other nominees: “Arrival“, “I, Daniel Blake“, “Manchester by the Sea” and “Moonlight“.

Well, well, well…little to say here, isn’t it? “La La Land” is again a winner, now here.  For the moment I wondered if they’d give this Award to British “I, Daniel Blake” because the film is so politically and culturally significant for the UK. But no, the British Academy did not supposedly have any qualms in not awarding “I, Daniel Blake” this Award, because they gave it the so-called “Outstanding British Film Award”.

As for “La La Land”, it dominates the domestic and international festivals to such an extent that I already want some other film to be recognised. If only there weren’t any “La La Land” last year, I wonder how many other films would have got their Best Picture wins across the globe? The film is also a favourite to win at the Academy  Awards ceremony too, and I wonder if its production crew already feel dizzy from all the publicity? Incidentally, Justin Hurwitz also wins here for his original score – a right decision since his score for “La La Land” is the best; and Damien Chazelle wins here for directing the movie.


Best Actor – Winner: Casey Affleck  (“Manchester by the Sea“)

Other nominees: Andrew Garfield (“Hacksaw Ridge“), Ryan Gosling (“La La Land“), Jake Gyllenhaal (“Nocturnal Animals“) and Viggo Mortensen (“Captain Fantastic“).

Part of me wanted Garfield or even Mortensen to win, but I knew that Affleck was going to be a winner. Probably, rightly so. I do not know if I am overly happy with Gyllenhaal’s nomination, but it comes as a surprise to me that Denzel Washington (“Fences”) was not nominated in this category. 


Best Actress – Winner: Emma Stone (“La La Land“)

Other nominees: Amy Adams (“Arrival“), Natalie Portman (“Jackie“), Meryl Streep (“Florence Foster Jenkins“) and Emily Blunt (“The Girl on the Train“).

I am a little bit surprised by Stone’s win, and feel sympathy for Amy Adams. Adams has been unjustly ignored by the Academy this year for her performance in “Arrival”, and I somehow hoped that she might be able to win here. I also think that, at the very least, Portman’s performance in “Jackie” was better than Stone’s inLa La Land“. Isabelle Huppert never had a chance to be nominated in this category, because French “Elle” had a late release in the UK.


Best Supporting Actress – Winner: Viola Davis (“Fences“)

Other nominees: Michelle Williams (“Manchester by the Sea“),  Nicole Kidman (“Lion“), Naomie Harris (“Moonlight“) and Hayley Squires (“I, Daniel Blake“).

Although I liked the performance of Williams in “Manchester by the Sea”, I think it is fair that Viola Davis gets this Award. Her performance in “Fences” was unbelievable: so true, so raw, so real. Magnificent. Since I saw her performance in “The Help” (2011), I have been a fan. She is one of my favourites to win at the Academy Awards 2017.


Best Supporting Actor – Winner: Dev Patel (“Lion“)

Other nominees: Mahershala Ali (“Moonlight“), Hugh Grant (“Florence Foster Jenkins“), Jeff Bridges (“Hell or High Water“) and Aaron Taylor-Johnson (“Nocturnal Animals“).

I feel particularly bad for Hugh Grant. I feel that since the Academy Awards ignored his outstanding performance in “Florence Foster Jenkins”, perhaps the British Academy will somehow distinguish him. Considering all, I do not believe that Dev Patel was really a better supporting actor of all the nominees. He is a British actor and belongs to a minority. He gets the Award. *Case closed*.  I also feel that Grant’s win at the BAFTA ceremony would have meant a lot to him and to others, and not even because he is quintessentially British, but because, knowing his acting history, he is unlikely anymore to be cast in many “big” high-quality production films with such leading “supporting” roles as that he got in “Florence Foster Jenkins”. British Taylor-Johnson was also ignored by the Academy, but that guy has a whole career in front of him still, and he did win the Golden Globe.


Best Foreign-Language Film – Winner: Son of Saul 

Other nominees: “Dheepan”, “Julieta”, “Mustang” and “Toni Erdmann”.

Due to the UK late releases of some foreign-language films, we have here some films which are strictly-speaking of the year 2015. In that vein, I am pleased to see “Mustang” being nominated here, and Almodovar’s “Julieta” being recognised. Irrespective of the odd release dates, I still think “Son of Saul” was the best film of 2015, but not of the previous one. In my opinion, the best foreign-language film of 2016 from those listed was “Toni Erdmann”. 


Best Documentary – Winner: 13th 

Other nominees: “Weiner“, “The Beatles: Eight Days a Week – the Touring Years“, “The Eagle Huntress” and “Notes on Blindness“.

First of all, I am so happy for “Weiner”‘s nomination in this category, because this documentary is a well-made one and touches on an important societal issue. The fact that the Academy Awards in the US decided not to nominate it – is beyond belief.  I am also happy with the documentary “13th” winning the BAFTA Award. The British Academy could have easily picked the Beatles documentary or “Notes on Blindness” and justified their choice, but it is evident that “13th” is really the best of the year.


Best Animation – Winner: Kubo and the Two Strings 

Other nominees: “Moana“, “Zootopia” and “Finding Dory“.

Part of me wanted to see among the nominees such animations as “Your Name” and “The Red Turtle”, but I guess these have (have had) very late releases in the UK. I am at least happy that “Finding Dory” is there among the nominees. The audience seems to like this animation more than the critics do. “Kubo and the Two Strings” also deserved to win given the representation.

13 Responses to BAFTA Awards 2017

  1. Ken Dowell says:

    Totally agree with the award for Viola Davis but can’t understand why Denzel Washington wasn’t even nominated.

    • dbmoviesblog says:

      Aha, even if imagine you can only have 5 nominees – no more, no less – just “throw away” Gyllenhaal or even Gosling and add Washington. In my personal opinion, it is only fair…

  2. Fair enough appraisal. My biggest problem with the BAFTAS is their lack of a British character. They relate more to the Oscars, Golden Globes etc. than indigenous film. I see ‘I, Daniel Blake’ won Best British Film: but only half of the nominees were actually set in and about Britain.
    I rather suspect that most BAFTA members, with an eye on a Hollywood opening, do not watch many home-grown films.

    • dbmoviesblog says:

      Yes, I agree with you somewhat. I mean, I really enjoyed “Love & Friendship”, which I reviewed in August, and “A United Kingdom” and “Sing Street” are fine movies to come out in 2016. What you see at the BAFTAs is over-americanisation.

  3. MIB says:

    The BAFTAs are equally as guilty of being a popularity contest as the Oscars in my opinion but are not as parochial. The fact a British award body has to have a separate “Best British Film” and “Best Film” category is a bit sad when they could have led the way in breaking that particular barrier down.

    Forgive my cynicism but Emma Stone is a predictable “safe” winner in my opinion as was “LaLa Land” itself (not that I didn’t like it but it wasn’t the 5 star classic it’s been lauded as for me) but the hype is sometimes too strong and going against the publicity would no doubt mean loss of face for BAFTA.

    If they couldn’t nominate Huppert for “Elle” then why not for “Things To Come”? She was just as great in that. :/

    • dbmoviesblog says:

      Yes, I think it is even a bit silly awarding the Best British Film Award at the British Academy of Film ceremony. I think the reasons for this separation are more complex, and involve some merged US/UK productions, British actors being involved in so many American films, the domination of Hollywood, etc. A British film has to have an Award, but with all the competition coming from the US, can they really afford no separation?
      I also agree with you on La La Land being a safe winner all around, but something inside of me still thought the British were not so much of crowd-followers and could come up with something different…at least when it comes to the Best Actress – clearly, they could not have avoided La La Land as the Best Picture.
      Thanks for your insightful comments!

  4. thefilm.blog says:

    Hello! I got nominated for the Mystery Blogger Award so, it being a bit of fun, I’ve nominated you! Do check out your nomination, I’d love to see your answers to my questions! Keep up the great work! https://thefilm.blog/2017/02/22/the-mystery-blogger-award-nomination/

  5. Pingback: The Academy Awards 2017 | dbmoviesblog

Leave a Reply

The Movie Nerd Strikes Back

Impressive. Most impressive.

The Immortal Jukebox

A Blog about Music and Popular Culture

Reel Infatuation

Reel Stars*Reel Crushes

Raistlin0903

Michels Book/Boardgame/Movie review Blog

CineSocialUK

Up to the minute, fair, balanced, informed film reviews.

Randy Myers in Motion

The best in film and fitness: Tips, reviews and insights

Chelsea Loves Movies

Movie Reviews As Told By An Average Movie Lover

