My 10 Favourite French-Language Films

Modern era and in no particular order:

1. La Haine (Hate) (1995)

 Haine

2. Indochine (Indochina) (1992) 

Indochine_1992

3. Intouchables (Untouchable) (2011)

The_Intouchables

4. A Very Long Engagement (2004)

A_Very_Long_Engagement_movie

5. L’ Appartement (The Apartment) (1996)

L'appartement

6. Amélie (2001)

Amelie_poster

7. Le Scaphandre et le Papillon (The Diving Bell and the Butterfly) (2007)

DivingBellButterflyMP

8. Les Choristes (The Chorus) (2004)

LesChoristes

9. 37°2 le Matin (Betty Blue) (1986)

Betty_blue_ver2

10. Monsieur Lazhar (2011)

MV5BNjM0NTYyNTkwNF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMzQwOTUzNw@@._V1._SY317_

10 Responses to My 10 Favourite French-Language Films

  1. keith7198 says:

    Hey, nice write up. It’s funny, I’m finishing up a similar list. We shall have a tiny bit if overlap me thinks!

  2. Daniel Nava says:

    Good list. I’d recommend Cache, Certified Copy, along with the Dardenne Brother’s filmography, particularly Rosetta.

  3. Nice list! I absolutely love Amelie and A Very Long Engagement (maybe it’s an Audrey Tatou thing!). I also like Tell No-One and The Diving Bell and the Butterfly. Also, for a bit of harmless nonsense, District 13 isn’t bad. There’s plenty here I haven’t seen that I’ll look into though.

    • dbmoviesblog says:

      Thanks. I don’t think I’ve seen ‘Tell No-One’ and am intrigued by it. I also heard about District 13, but haven’t watched it yet. The other two new films I think I would have considered including are ‘The Kid with a Bike’ and ‘Amour’, the latest ‘masterpiece’ from Michael Haneke. I should really get them on my list of ‘must-watch’.

  4. Dan says:

    Interesting top 10. I’ve heard a lot of good things about Untouchable so I’m looking forward to checking that out very soon. Can’t argue with La Haine at the top of the list.

  5. Pingback: 10 “Must-See” German-Language Films | dbmoviesblog

  6. Fergal Casey says:

    Great to see Monsieur Lazhar on that list.
    It could have been terribly mawkish but it’s handled so well it becomes almost overwhelmingly sad.

Leave a Reply

Comics Grinder

comics, pop culture and related topics

The Film Fanatic

Not Another Film Blogger

Musings of a Grouch

The insane ramblings of Chris Scott

Karavansara

East of Constantinople, West of Shanghai

indiescifi451.wordpress.com/

îndependent science fiction movies, reviewed and dissected ruthlessly.

The Uncharted Word

My World of YA Book Reviews || Ramblings || and Works in Progress

50 Year Project

My challenge to visit 192 countries, read 1,001 books, and watch the top 100 movies

The Bookish Wanderer

A lifestyle & book blog for inspiration, reviews & laughs - best enjoyed with a good cup of coffee.

