‘La Belle et La Bête’ Trailer

_______________________________________________

Ok, this may be far from Jean Cocteau classic, but something must explain its current opening success in Italy. There are things here that I like: Vincent Cassel cast as Beast/Prince, a very powerful soundtrack and seemingly great visuals. I hear the story does not live up to all the visuals, but it’s a rule, rather than an exception today. Apparently, there is another ‘Beauty and the Beast’ movie to be announced with Emma Watson in it, but we will see a number of Disney-themed films in the next couple of years. Joe Wright is directing ‘Pan’ (2015), ‘the origin’ story of the character Peter Pan staring Hugh Jackman. ‘Maleficent’ (2014) with Angelina Jolie is coming soon, and sure, we anticipate (for years now) “a darker version” of the fairytale ‘Pinocchio’ (an animated film with Guillermo del Toro as a director).

4 Responses to ‘La Belle et La Bête’ Trailer

  1. Yeah, I read about Pan they cast Rooney Mara so that’s a big win! :)
    This could be good, I like that Léa Seydoux is Belle.

    • dbmoviesblog says:

      Really. That’s good. Well, the only fault I can find in Seydoux is that Belle is a brunette – that’s like an unspoken ‘law’ which must be obeyed at all times. Haha, and, well you’re speaking from a male’s point of view, and I am – from a female’s :P I like Vincent Cassel as Beast/Prince, but I also like the fact that they cast Eduardo Noriega as some character called Perducas. I liked Noriega in ‘Open Your Eyes’, he is like a Spanish answer to Cassel – would be nice to see their dynamics.

      • Oh nice!
        I didn’t know she was supposed to be a brunette, I’m not as familiar with the story. I should really watch Cocteau’s film and also stop assuming that everyone on the internet is a dude :)

  2. Trailer seems promising, rest will come up after it release…

Leave a Reply

