20 Must-See Italian-Language Films

In no particular order

1) Cinema Paradiso (1988)

2) Life is Beautiful (1997)

3) Facing Windows (2003)

4) L’Eclisse (1962)

5) Bicycle Thieves (1948)

6) Gomorrah (2008)

7) The Best of Youth (2003)

8) La Notte (1961)

9) L’Avventurra (1960)

10) The Taming of the Scoundrel (1980)

11) Malèna (2000)

12) 8 ½ (1963)

13) Golden Door (2006)

14) The Son’s Room (2001)

15) I Am Love (2009)

16) Il Postino (1994)

17) Ossessione (1943)

18) Rocco and His Brothers (1960)

19) Divorce, Italian Style (1961)

20) The Consequences of Love (2004)

7 Responses to 20 Must-See Italian-Language Films

  1. vinnieh says:

    I’m trying to watch more foreign language films at the moments, thanks for these suggestions.

  2. Thanks for the list. I have seen some of these, but not nearly enough. Felini’s Nights of Cabiria is great, as is Umberto D. by De Sica, but Rome Open City deserves to be on this list on its historical importance alone, and the fact that it ushered in the era of Italian neo-realism.

    • dbmoviesblog says:

      In retrospect I agree, but then I was not making this list for critics but for general audience, and I don’t think I want to burden someone with ‘Rome, Open City’ to the point of compulsion – since I got ‘a must-see’ film list, not a ‘best-film’ list. Thanks very much for reading and for your suggestions :)

  3. Excellent list! A lot of my favorites, which means you have great tastes ;)

    • dbmoviesblog says:

      Thank you! I noticed that you’ve reviewed ‘La Dolce Vita’, that’s an unfortunate miss from my list. I guess I wanted to bring out to everyone’s attention different directors and different kinds of Italian films.

Leave a Reply

